Skip to main content

Kaizen No-Michi School of Shotokan Karate

The Path to Constant and Never Ending Improvement

Home  About Us  Latest News  Contact Us  Kaizen Tigers  Training Times  Calendar  Testimonials  Shop  Student Info  CCLG Fund   
Grading Syllabus > Dojo Kun > Rules For Students > Rules For Parents > Karate Terminology > Dojo Forms > Karate Video Tutorials > Safeguarding Policy >  
 Grading Syllabus
Structured grading programme, aligned with Japan Karate Shotorenmei
Members will be eligible to grade providing that they have a current JKS license and have met all the minimum requirements as
set out on the table of each syllabus below. They must also ensure that any additional club requirements are met and permission
is granted from the chief Instructors of Kaizen No-Michi.
Students from other Karate organisations who transfer to our club and have a JKS license issued to them may retain there current grade.(Dan grades must provide a copy of there Diploma as proof of there grade) Once they are at the required standard, they may continue to participate in gradings.
Kyu gradings will result in a Pass, Fail or Half Grade (Kari-Kyu). For Kari-Kyu, the student will be allowed to wear the belt of the grade being attempted but will be asked to re-take part of the examination at the next grading. If the re-take is passed then the student can be examined for the next grading on the same day. All students who have passed will be awarded a Kyu Grade Certificate.
Dan Gradings will be taken on JKS courses. Upon passing a Dan grading examination, the candidate will receive a Dan Grade Diploma issued from JKS Headquarters in Japan. Gradings from 6th Dan and above are very exceptional and strictly by invitation from the JKS.
9th Kyu
(Orange Belt)

Click here for syllabus

6th Kyu
(Green Belt)


3rd Kyu
(Brown Belt)

Click here for syllabus
1st Dan - Shodan
(Black Belt)


4th Dan - Yondan
(Black Belt)

8th Kyu
(Red Belt)

Click here for syllabus

5th Kyu
(Purple Belt)


2nd Kyu(Brown/White Belt)

Click here for syllabus

2nd Dan - Nidan
(Black Belt)

7th Kyu
(Yellow Belt)

4th Kyu
(Purple/White Belt)


1st Kyu
(Brown/2 Wte Belt)


3rd Dan - Sandan
(Black Belt)